Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
National Events

Tiernan shows cross country strength in Kampala

Monday, 27 March 2017 | Anonym



Patrick Tiernan (Qld) has impressed at the IAAF World Cross Country Championships, crossing 13th in the hotly contested men’s open race in Kampala (UGA).

Battling humid conditions, the Rio 2016 Olympian, Tiernan, looked comfortable among the leaders as he sat with them for much of the first half of the 12-kilometre race.

Never slipping too far from the pace, Tiernan crossed the line in a time of 29:17, notably, the first finisher without African heritage. The strong result sits alongside his NCAA cross-country crown and the Australian 10,000m Championship gold medal in Melbourne (Vic) from the latter half of 2016.

His result ensures he is among the top-five all-time performers for Australia in the men’s race at the IAAF World Cross Country Championships, with only Rob de Castella, Steve Moneghetti, Craig Mottram and Collis Birmingham the only athletes to finish in a higher position than him.

The Australian men’s team placed 8th overall, with Jack Rayner (Vic, 40th, 30:30) the first past the post after Tiernan. Sam McEntee (WA, 49th, 30:59), Stewart McSweyn (Tas, 52nd, 31:05) and Liam Adams (Vic, 61st, 31:27) rounded out the green and gold results, as Geoffrey Kamworor (KEN) won the individual gold and Kenya the team crown.

In the women’s 10-kilometre event, Anna Kelly (Vic) was best, crossing the line in 31st place in a time of 35:20. The next Australian starter to cross was Gemma Maini (Vic) in 56th (36:54), with Emily Ryan (ACT) the third best in 62nd (37:12).

Amelia Mazza-Downie (NSW) was the best placed Australian in the junior girl’s race, crossing 35th, with Kieran Tall (NSW) leading the boys in 48th (26:03).

Full results:

Senior Men

Place Athlete Time
13 Patrick Tiernan 29:17
40 Jack Rayner 30:30
49 Sam McEntee 30:59
52 Stewart McSweyn 31:05
61 Liam Adams 31:27
- Brett Robinson DNF
8/18 Australia 154

Senior Women

Place Athlete Time
31 Anna Kelly 35:20
56 Gemma Maini 36:54
62 Emily Ryan 37:12
77 Virginia Moloney 38:19
80 Lexy Gilmour 39:11
81 Bridey Delaney 39:51
14/16  Australia 226

U20 Men
Place Athlete Time
48 Kieren Tall 26:03
55 David Lean 26:24
65 Zach Facioni 26:48
66 Edward Trippas 26:50
68 Joshua Phillips 26:57
75 Callum McClusky 27:18
12/16 Australia 234

U20 Women
Place Athlete Time
35 Amelia Mazza-Downie 21:28
44 Lauren Ryan 21:56
67 Georgia Evans 22:35
73 Clio Ozanne-Jaques 22:53
77 Courtney Hopkins 23:03
13/16 Australia 219

For more information on the IAAF World Cross Country Championships, including results that feature split times, please click here.

Event Search


Phone:        +61 (02) 6253 4420
Fax:           +61 (02) 6253 4417

ABN:  51 215 120 626